ISQED08 Best Papers Press Release


ISQED Announces 2008 Best Paper Awards

Leading Electronic Design Conference Recognizes Innovations in Dealing with Process Variations and Design Margin Exploration


San Jose, Calif. – March 21, 2008 – The International Society for Quality Electronic Design ( today announced three winners of the best paper awards at the ISQED ‘08 conference held March 17-19, 2008 in San Jose, California. ISQED best papers were selected and voted upon by a select committee composed of senior technologists from the electronic design automation (EDA), integrated circuit (IC) design, and semiconductor manufacturing communities. This year's best papers are:


A methodology for characterization of large macro cells and IP blocks considering process variations

Amit Goel1,  Sarma Vrudhula1,  Feroze Taraporevala2,  Praveen Ghanta2

1Arizona State University, 2Synopsys Inc.



Characterization of Standard Cells for Intra-Cell Mismatch Variations

Savithri Sundareswaran1,  Jacob Abraham2,  Alexandre Ardelea1,  Rajendran Panda1

1Freescale Semiconductor, 2University of Texas at Austin



Design Margin Exploration of Spin-Torque Transfer RAM (SPRAM)

Yiran Chen,  Xiaobin Wang,  Hai Li,  Hongyue Liu,  Dimitar Dimitrov

Seagate LLC


ISQED’08 technical program committee chair; Lalitha Immaneni of Intel presented best papers authors with the recognition plagues during the ISQED luncheon on Tuesday, March18, 2008. Over 500 designs, manufacturing, test and verification engineers and university alumni attended the conference including members of the press at the DoubleTree Hotel in San Jose, CA, USA.


The ISQED ‘08 best paper awards were sponsored by Magma Design Automation Inc. (Nasdaq: LAVA), and Synopsys Inc. (Nasdaq: SNPS).


The ISQED ‘08 best paper awards were sponsored by Magma Design Automation Inc. ( and Synopsys Inc. (

International Society for Quality Electronic Design (ISQED Org.)
Copyright © 1998-2008 ISQED. All rights reserved.
Revised: April 20, 2008